Australia bowl first; Hasaranga returns as Sri Lanka go spin-heavy

Australia won the toss and decided to bowl against Sri Lanka

Australia have won the toss and chosen to bowl first in the fourth ODI at Khettarama. This is an unusual choice at a venue on which chases are historically difficult. They had lost the third ODI batting first, however, and are down 2-1 in the series.

The return of Wanindu Hasaranga strengthens an already robust Sri Lanka spin attack, which features Jeffrey Vandersay (legspin), Maheesh Theekshana (allsorts), and Dunith Wellalage (left-arm spin). In playing four specialist slow bowlers, Sri Lanka have opted to leave out Dushmantha Chameera, which means there is no specialist seam bowler in the XI. Allrounders Chamika Karunaratne, and Dasun Shanaka are the only pace-bowling options.

Hasaranga had been out with a groin injury picked up in the first ODI, but has obviously now recovered. Danushka Gunathilaka remains out with his mild hamstring strain though, which means Niroshan Dickwella plays again.

Australia have strengthened their attack as well. Pat Cummins comes back into the XI after missing the third ODI, displacing Jhye Richardson. Australia have only one specialist spinner – left-arm orthodox bowler Matthew Kuhnemann. Glenn Maxwell will also likely contribute his offspin and Marnus Labuschagne his legspin.

Josh Hazlewood and Cameron Green are the remaining members of their seam-heavy attack.

Sri Lanka 1 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Dhananjaya de Silva, 5 Charith Asalanka, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Chamika Karunaratne, 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Dunith Wellalage, 10 Jeffrey Vandersay, 11 Maheesh Theekshana

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey (wk), 6 Travis Head, 7 Glenn Maxwell, 8 Cameron Green, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Matt Kuhnemann, 11 Josh Hazlewood

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.