Team England names Commonwealths athletics squad

Katarina Johnson-Thompson won heptathlon gold at the 2018 Commonwealth Games
Hosts: Birmingham Dates: 28 July to 8 August
Coverage: Watch live on BBC TV with extra streams on BBC iPlayer, Red Button, BBC Sport website and BBC Sport mobile app

Dina Asher-Smith and Katarina Johnson-Thompson will headline a 72-strong England athletics team at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

World 200m champion Asher-Smith will compete in the women’s 100m and 4x100m – the latter in which she won gold at the 2018 Games.

Heptathlon world champion Johnson-Thompson will also defend her title.

Tokyo Olympic medallists Keely Hodgkinson (400m) and Holly Bradshaw (pole vault) are also in the squad.

The 2022 Commonwealth Games take place from 28 July-8 August.

More to follow.

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.